technical update

It has just come to my attention that both Dubai and Sharjah airports have redesigned their websites. Also, I’ve added 395 more meetings to the scraper this weekend, but for some weird reason the DFID disclosure isn’t actually being treated as a csv file by the csv module. Scraping, scraping, scraping, always bloody well scraping. I even had to write a scraping script for work last week.

Also, does anyone else find the OpenTech schedule a bit thin?

Meanwhile, I think I may be about to buy a laptop. Does anyone have experience of the new, cheap-end Lenovo ThinkPads or indeed their top-end netbook-cum-tablet?


  1. Cian

    Dunno on Lenovo, but from bitter experience check that the wireless card and the graphics card work well on Linux.

  2. Myles

    Does anyone have experience of the new, cheap-end Lenovo ThinkPads

    Are you talking about the X-series or the T-series?

  3. More the ThinkPad Edge. You have to remember I’m cheap.

    • Myles

      I suggest you ask a fellow, pseudonym_in_nc, at Matthew Yglesias’s blog. He does this for a living, I think. He suggested I get mine recon’d from the corporate lease program, which seems to be very sound advice.

  4. i have an ideapad, and a colleague has a thinkpad. both are well made devices.

    if i had to choose today i’d opt for the U260.




Leave a Reply

