again with the nameless dread!

So there’s this web application that does a corpus analysis of your writing and compares it to others….I chucked this post at it.

I write like
H. P. Lovecraft

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I suppose Charlie Stross is right in linking the Lovecraft mythos and international politics. Further evidence – I tried the post before that one, about satellites and private finance initiatives, and got the same result.

Update: But when I write for Stable & Principled

I write like
Ian Fleming

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


  1. Phil

    I’m all over the show: one post in the style of Lovecraft, two Stephen King(!), one Dan Brown(!!!), one Douglas Adams, one J.K. Rowling, one Margaret Atwood and one post, on the curious liberalism of Tory penal policy, in the style of William Shakespeare. Forsooth.

  2. ajay

    Lots of long words like “disingenuous” and a general sense of unease and dread… and the software probably isn’t smart enough to distinguish between “Ahmed Rashid” and “Abdul Alhazred”.

  3. Neil

    I put that c word in the box until it was full, and got Stephen King. Odd, I’d expect him to come up if the box was entirely blank.

    Wonder what 200 lots of ‘Bayesean’ will yield?




Leave a Reply

